A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

What is CRISC Certification

Posted by : knowlathon on | May 05,2022

Most businesses are moving digital and organizations should be focusing more on their IT security services. Cybercriminals can also take advantage of the IoT's massive use, resulting in data loss.Nearly 40% of companies don't encode data managed by third-party suppliers, forgetting that a data breach could lead to business ruin. CRISC certification is crucial in this area.


What is a CRISC certification?

CRISC, the full form of CRISC, is Certified in Risk and Information System Control certification. This is an exclusive qualification for IT professionals who are awarded by ISAC. The American National Standards Institute (ANSI), under ISO/IEC 17024, 2012, has accredited this certification.

CRISC, in essence, is a qualification that allows you to manage IT Risk across the entire enterprise. It is designed to help IT professionals upskill and teach them how to be competitive in an IT world.

CRISC certification equips professionals with the knowledge and skills to manage risk effectively in their organizations. These individuals are able to effectively promote various IT security models and controls.

The full form of CRISC is Certified in Risk and Information System Control certification and is a unique qualification for IT professionals that are awarded by ISAC. This certification is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) under ISO/IEC 17024:2012.

Essentially, CRISC is a risk management qualification to manage IT Risk throughout the enterprise. It helps IT, professionals, to upskill themselves and teaches them how to stay ahead in a competitive IT world.

CRISC certification provides professionals with the necessary expertise to handle risk management efficiently in their organization. These certified individuals understand the involvement of a high level of technical business risks that can hinder the growth of an organization, and are efficient to promote various IT security models, controls, and processes.

CRISC Certification Eligibility

Acquiring CRISC certification is not easy and requires certain prerequisites. All the applicants need to match the following criteria:


• Should have at least 3 years of working experience with risk management and information systems in IT

• They need to pass the CRISC examination to be applicable for the certification

• All applicants need to sign a Code of Professional Ethics, to help guide professional and personal conduct, and need to follow the same

• They have to adhere to the Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Program policy. Under this policy, the candidates have to adhere at least for the duration of 20 hours a year and also a minimum of 120 contact hours for three continuous years.

• The primary objective of CPE maintains the candidate’s competency and helps them gain and update existing knowledge and skills in risk areas and information system controls.

• It also helps differentiate between qualified CRISCs and the candidates who are unable to meet the requirements for further maintaining the certification.



Salary and CRISC Certification Opportunities


CRISC certification identifies professionals as experts in organizational governance, risk monitoring and information security. The CRISC credential, which is internationally recognized, is an effective tool to gain higher salaries and secure higher-ranking positions within an organization.



CRISC certification can open doors to the following positions:



* Risk Manager


* Security Manager


* Business Analyst


* IT Manager


* Operations Manager


* Security Risk Strategist


* IT Security Analyst


* Information Security Analyst


* IT Audit Risk Supervisor


* Compliance and Control Professionals


* Cyber Security Experts


CRISC certification is one of the most highly-paid certifications on the market. CRISC certification holders in the United States earn an average of $125,000 per year, while CRISC jobs opportunities in India can fetch around Rs 25,00,000. The IT Skills and Salary Report by Global Knowledge for 2020 ranked the CRISC credential as the fourth highest-paid certification worldwide.

CRISC Certification Eligibility


CRISC certification can be difficult and requires some prerequisites. The following criteria must be met by all applicants:



* At least three years experience in risk management and information systems.


* To be eligible for certification, they must pass the CRISC exam


* All applicants must sign a Code of Professional Ethics to guide professional and personal conduct.


* They must adhere to the Continuing Professional Education Program (CPE) policy. This policy requires that candidates adhere for at least 20 hours per year, and a minimum 120 hours of contact over three consecutive years.


* CPE's primary goal is to maintain the candidate's competence and help them acquire and update their knowledge in information system controls and risk areas.


* This helps to distinguish between CRISC-qualified candidates and those who cannot meet the requirements for maintaining certification.


CRISC Exam Difficulty



The CRIS exam can be difficult and requires extensive practice and training. This exam is easy to pass if you use the right resources and follow the proper preparation module at accredited training institutes such as Knowlathon.



The best way to pass the exam is to understand its structure. The CRISC Task Force has created job practice domains that can be used for this exam. These are:



* Domain 1 Governance (26%)


* Domain 2: IT Risk Assessment (20%)


* Domain 3: Reporting and Risk Response (32%)


* Domain 4: IT and Security (22%).


CRISC Training Course Syllabus


CRISC certification training covers the following areas:



* The Certified in Risk and Information System Control Exam


* Enterprise risk concepts


* Maintain information system controls by planning, executing, reviewing, and retaining them


* Risk mitigation involves identification, evaluation, assessment and response.


* IS control and execution


* IS Control and Maintenance and Monitoring


CRISC Exam Format


CRISC exam requires you to answer 200 multiple-choice questions in four hours. You will be scored on a scale of 200 to 800. A score of 450 is the minimum score required to pass the exam and be eligible for CRISC certification. After you have attained this score, you will be able to begin your application process.





CRISC certification has been recognized as the gold standard in information system control and risk management. This certification is recommended by Knowlathon for candidates who wish to move up the ladder from Security Analysts to Chief information Security Officers.